A Day of Love

While it never bothered me not to receive flowers (although flowers would have been lovely), chocolate or even a card for V day, I have celebrated this day for a decade and a half. To now be single and without someone special to celebrate the day with… is… strange. While I can understand why some may dislike this day, accentuating that “single” status in a lonely light, I find though, I do not feel any bitterness or resentment. Yes, if you are attentive you might see a shadow of sadness reflected in my eyes, and even though I won’t be in love today, it is still a day of Love.

So to those of you who are able to celebrate Valentine’s Day with that special someone, I say go ahead and ignore the rest of the world while you can and I wish you a fabulous day.

And for myself, well, I have Love in my heart and maybe in the future I too can ignore the world and share that Love with my beloved.

About Inner Love

I want: Passion. Desire. To create Cosmos. I want: Expression. Depth. Meaning. I want: Joy. Laughter. Love. I want: Life. View all posts by Inner Love

2 responses to “A Day of Love

  • Secret

    I am 33, and divorced. I was with my husband for 10 years. I am seeing someone, have been off and on for the past 3 years. This V-day was the first time in my life that I was romanced. Before this happened, I used to tell people that I was ok with not getting flowers, or being treated like I was special. Now, I could never say that again. We all deserve to be treated like we are special, because we are. And I personally don’t care if Hallmark is the reason someone goes the extra mile for me. Life is short, I will take what I can get 🙂
    You are a deep person. I admire and respect much of your words and thoughts. You will find your equal, and you will have your hopes realized. And the love you have to give will be accepted with open arms and returned in full.

    • Suzanne

      Thank for such a honest, open response and the encouraging words. I am hurt, but hopeful for love again. And since life is short, hopefully love will find me not too far in the future 🙂

Leave a Reply

