Dying Tree

There is a tree that stands inside of me
Massive roots run deep through me
This tree used to be strong and healthy
Ripe fruit and lush leaves

Some roots I pulled out carelessly
Not knowing what it was doing to me
Some roots were pulled by you deliberately
Only one root is now left behind

I stand before this dying tree
I remember how glorious it used to be
But I cannot save this tree
So I make the choice to pull the last root from me

The fruit all fall and perish
The leaves turn brown and lacking
All the pieces turn to ash and drift away
Leaving nothing behind in its passing

But I will not mourn long for this dying tree
I shall lay a new foundation inside of me
Where one day something new will grow
And blossom fruit to feed my soul

About Inner Love

I want: Passion. Desire. To create Cosmos. I want: Expression. Depth. Meaning. I want: Joy. Laughter. Love. I want: Life. View all posts by Inner Love

2 responses to “Dying Tree

Leave a Reply

