Death of a Teenage Dream and a Crossroad

When I was 16 I feel in love. I believed in soul mates and forever after. Today I love a man who doesn’t exist anymore. I have to face the full truth though, who we are now, there is no love for either of us.

So half of my life later, my marriage and those dreams of a 16 year old girl have died. And like with any death, I will mourn. I will mourn something beautiful and something horrible.

I stand at a crossroad.

I have fleeting thoughts of holding onto the angry and pain and wearing my broken heart as a badge. To burn all the bridges left between us and claim my independence with fury and passion.

Instead I have left the door open for friendship, but it isn’t just for him. It is also for those friendships that I have always let slip me by before.

And to those current friends who have come out of the woodwork to show their love, I will say thank you because I will need that support. You will never know what it means to me to have you in my life.

So I say goodbye to ALL that was. May you rest in peace.

About Inner Love

I want: Passion. Desire. To create Cosmos. I want: Expression. Depth. Meaning. I want: Joy. Laughter. Love. I want: Life. View all posts by Inner Love

5 responses to “Death of a Teenage Dream and a Crossroad

  • Jen

    Oh dear this does not sound good at all. I hope that things work out for you! I applaud your courage with this and the fact that you have chosen to leave the angry and pain behind. Leaving the door open to friendship is very courageous of you! I’m here for you even if you need anything!

  • Paul

    Certainly it will take time but it’s never a good idea to carry anger and pain around. Recognize that you will eventually let it go, and it will likely leave you on it’s own.

    As far as where you will go, don’t forget…I gave you the entire state! (Apparently just in time)

  • Slamdunk

    I am sorry to hear about your situation Suzanne–that must be difficult. You are in my prayers as you move forward.

Leave a Reply

