Rocking the 30s

So, I was telling a friend that I’m definitely over being in my 20s and freaking out about being in my 30s. Now that I’m in my 30s, I think I shall enjoy them quite a lot. This weekend will be another birthday for me, 31, to be exact. And in honor of my birthday, this post will be all about… me!

Now, 31 things about me. Oh no, that would either bore you or run you off! Instead 3 + 1 = 4.

4 things about me

1. I was adopted when I was 5 years old. I have no memories of my time before coming to the US.

2. My mother picked my birthday to be the same as her birthday, which is also the same as my grandmother’s birthday.

3. November is what it says on my birth certificate. A few years back I started celebrating that birthday too. Bonus!

4. Around the time I was in middle school, my family moved into a new house with beautiful beige carpeting. I had a room to my own and I was painting my nails, red polish of course, and that’s right… I spilled it on the carpet.

4 things on my ever continuous bucket list

1. Never stop creating art. Even if it stays forever a hobby.

2. Travel. On a boat, on a plane, on a train. To another city, another state, another country. I want to visit the Louvre, Giza Pyramids, Great Wall. And so much more!

3. To be open to new experiences and new friendships. To grow, to change, to live. To be that person I want to be.

4. Pursuing Happiness. Not money, not fame… just happiness.

4 things I want for my birthday

1. Red Heels. I have been thinking about getting a pair for a long time.

2. A Purse. Yes I have a few already, but they are just a bit larger then clutches and I need a bigger one. Besides, I want a new one!

3. Tattoo. Last year I was very serious about getting one, but never followed through to make a design. I’m working on the right design now and then I will get one.

4. Enjoy the time with my friends and family.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

About Inner Love

I want: Passion. Desire. To create Cosmos. I want: Expression. Depth. Meaning. I want: Joy. Laughter. Love. I want: Life. View all posts by Inner Love

21 responses to “Rocking the 30s

  • Roger's Place

    Awww…come on with the 31 things. I will read and enjoy them all.

  • Sara

    I want to go with you to keep you company whenever you get a tattoo!

    What day in November does your birth certificate say?

    • Suzanne

      You better come with me!

      I’ve been working on the designs. Think I may post them when I’m finished and get some feedback.

      14th. We can have a party!

  • Seshadri

    Nice compilation. Simple yet powerful and profound. Might use this idea of yours as a cue for my next post 🙂

  • Christina

    This is a great post. I made a list of things I wanted to do before turning 30. Thanks for the comment on my blog too. It is appreciated.

    • Suzanne

      Thanks for visiting! With a normal bucket list, I feel bad when I don’t accomplish them, so I’ve moved on to a “ever continuous” bucket list. Sounds like a win to me!

  • SenderUpWords

    Love it all Suzanne… as usual. Happy Birthday and Happy Birthday in November!!!

    Bisous, Love and Light,

    Sender

  • Paul

    Happy Birthday Suzanne! In honor of your birthday, I gave you your state back. It’s smaller, and now called Suzanneland, but I think you will like it. (see my blog)

    I hope you had a great day and enjoy your new state.

    • Suzanne

      Having my own state seems like a very nice birthday present, thank you. Maybe I will write a post about how I will run my new state…

  • webmistress

    “Pursuing Happiness. Not money, not fame… just happiness”

    Amen to that girl and happy belated 2nd birthday (the 1st one is in Nov lol) you have it all planned out, your open minded and know what you want to do before you kick the bucket. Travel as much as you can there’s so much to see and do…many people have not even been out of their area.

    yes keep on doing artwork, you seems passionate about it…your comments & posts tells us more about you than you think. Enjoying time with friends and family shows your a selfless person…these days many folks are to busy for a 5min phone call.

    • Suzanne

      There are a few things I think every person should do and traveling is one of them. Like you said, many have never left their hometown and I think people might be more open and understanding if they visited to other areas and cultures.

      • webmistress

        That is so true, because when you limited your experiences to only what you know and where your at…then thats all you’ll ever know.

        Mos def have to get out, learn new things, in new places from a variety of people.

        I truly wish we could see the entire world even for those who have been around the world there’s still a large volume of places they have not yet discovered or ever will.

  • Seshadri

    Belated Birthday Wishes
    Prayers for you to have happiness and pure happiness.

  • somethingnewplease

    I hope you have something strange and new happen on your birthday.

    I also share a birthday with a grandmother. When she turns 90 I will be 30. Milestones!

    I can appreciate your piece on art. I lead two lives, one as a very amateur writer/photographer (which makes me happy and I love doing) and one as a public administration professional (which is also awesome because I get to do good, but also can be less of a passion).

    Hope you got your gifts,

    D.

    • Suzanne

      Thank you, I don’t mind strange and new (not with dead trees though).

      That is a milestone for both of you! Hope it will be a great one!

      Hmm… public administration professional sounds official, but not the slightest clue what it is. Well, don’t stop writing, love your stuff.

  • slamdunk

    Happy belated birthday as I am way late on this one–and I like the idea of your bonus birthday (NOV as well).

Leave a Reply

