Lets Dance!

National Dance Day was on July 31, 2010

It was created by So You Think You Can Dance executive producer and judge Nigel Lythgoe, who wanted to “promote health and self-esteem through the art form of dance.”

It makes me reminisce about high school and the Danceros.

My freshman year in high school I decided I wanted to try out for the dance team. I had never taken dance classes before and to be honest I didn’t have much natural ability either. I wasn’t even pushed to try out by my mother, who I know was thrilled hoping this would help me with my shyness and closed off nature. I had long ago quit piano lessons and didn’t play any sports, so I know I desired to be part of something. So despite my personality issues, I motivated myself to stretch my limbs until I could do the splits and toe touches and I practiced the routines over and over again. The dance team wasn’t great at that time and there weren’t too many girls trying out, which made it possible for me to make the team.

I made it every year of high school and my last year I was one of three captains. By my senior year, the dance team was better (of course I’m bias) then the cheerleading team. Mostly this was due to our dance coach who was dedicated to making the team great and could dance herself and show us firsthand what a move should look like.

I certainly wasn’t good enough to dance in college, but I will say being on that team was one of the few things I liked about high school. It was a huge part of my adolescent life and I can’t image how differently I would have turned out if I hadn’t made it. And surprisingly it taught me a lot, especially managing skills. Have you ever had to be in charge of 40 teenage girls? Despite the craziness and drama, I have very fond memories of those girls and tons of tons of pictures to remind me of that time. I went through the boxes of pictures and picked out two to add to the post.

I no longer dance, except around the house for my cat. I always wanted to take classes: waltz, salsa, tango, swing. Sounds like so much fun to me!

So, what activity were you into in high school?

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

About Inner Love

I want: Passion. Desire. To create Cosmos. I want: Expression. Depth. Meaning. I want: Joy. Laughter. Love. I want: Life. View all posts by Inner Love

16 responses to “Lets Dance!

  • World Wide News Flash

    Lets Dance!…

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

  • slamdunk

    “Have you ever had to be in charge of 40 teenage girls?”

    The thought of being in charge of 40 teens (boys or girls) is enough to give me nightmares tonight. Glad you excelled.

  • Jacky Cheng

    i don’t know why, but this post made me smile 🙂
    i guess it’s because i can relate to your story. i grew up really shy and never played on an actual sports team. in my first year of high school, i decided to try out for the lacrosse team. needless to say, i sat on the bench for the better part of my first season.
    lucky for me, i chose to forget my bad days and worked hard instead. by my senior year, i became one of two captains and even made the all-state team!
    i’ll never forget how i grew throughout those years, from the values i developed and the lasting friendships that i still cherish today.
    but, alas, i still can’t dance!

    great post, suzanne!

    • Suzanne

      I’m glad it made you smile 🙂

      It does sounds very familiar! Just think how different you would be if you hadn’t tried out. All-star team, sounds like that hard work paid off, congrats!

  • webmistress

    Bravo! Suzanne you are a talented girl i’m glad you’ve been rewarded for your efforts, teamwork and over all desire to go forward. Dancing is absolutely fun, speaking of which last summer I took a few Salsa lessons it was a great experiences did’nt get to learn as much as I hoped nor did I continue with it this year. This post has inspired me also dancing shows are the best!

    • Suzanne

      Thanks, it does feel great when you are rewarded for your hard work.

      After talking about it, I really want to take dance classes! You should go back to the Salsa classes for the both of us, haha!

  • webmistress

    Well i’ll make you a bet IF you start doing dance classes i’ll go back to my salsa lessons…is that a deal? Salsa is so full of fire and passion, great music, great beat and over all feel good moment on the dance floor. What type of dancing are you interested in?

    I am super proud of you (seriously) for acting on your talents, people like my partner on my blog Swaggtalk100 he is a talented person too, but his fear of failing is holding him back. Hopefully more of our readers will encourage him to go further.

    • Suzanne

      I would say it was a deal, but I probably won’t be able to take any classes until next year! I would probably enjoy any type. I also thought it would be a great way to exercise, more fun then treadmill or walking and running outside.

      I wouldn’t say I was really talented in dance, but just worked really hard at it, but thank you!! Now, I couldn’t do a toe touch to save my life!

      Well, you push your partner just to keep at it! I’m still reading!

      • webmistress

        Thank you for your kind words in regards to my partner Swaggtalk100, but more of our readers will have to leave comments there in regards to him and on his post as he has been thinking nobodies interesed in what he writes.

        Dont feel bad about not being able to do a toe touch i cant either lol, but i love walking, dancing and jogging. Yes my purpose for learning dance was for exercise originally as well, but it seemed more fun to do than anything.

      • Suzanne

        Does he connect with other bloggers like you do? Blogging is definitely harder then it seems.

      • webmistress

        Not as much as I do, he does’nt reply or read as much as me either, blogging has been great because i’ve met wonderful people who share thoughts, idea’s and themselves.

        With me as i’m that type of person so being drawn to you all and corresponding back and forth just comes naturally for me. I certainly want to know if you decide to take some dance classes that would be excellent.

        you might actually love it

  • somethingnewplease

    I have never given dance a real fair chance. I once imagined I had a dance fight with an elderly lady in a Barnes and Noble parking lot, and suffered a terrible loss. As I said, however, I merely imagined this and luckily have not been the subject of that sort of shame.

    Now I only dance fight with trees. That is what happened to my arm. I would say that I won the fight, because the tree is now dead. However, I should preface that with the fact that the tree was dead from the start. FYI, dead trees are dangerous.

    D

    • Suzanne

      And now I am imagining you in a “dance fight” with an elderly lady in a BN parking lot… and it is hilarious. Even funnier that the elderly lady wins… I mean, you kept it a close fight, you almost had her! I know that would be a youtube hit!

      I will now be wary of dead trees, thanks for the heads up. That looked really painful, but just think about the awesome battle scar you will have!

  • IzaakMak

    What a great post! It has reminded me so much of just how terribly shy I was in school – despite having HUGE dreams. Although I have nothing but admiration for anyone with the courage to put themselves out there, I’ve never been able to overcome my own hangups enough to go for it. And I get so worked for the people on shows like So You Think You Can Dance and American Idol that I can’t bear to watch them anymore. But I do have a secret life where I sing and dance with all the abandon I can muster! If you ever want to read about it, try my Song and Dance post. 😀

    • Suzanne

      Yeah, I don’t know where I got the determination to try out. Surprised myself, even more so that I made it.

      Enjoyed your post!

Leave a Reply

