Plinky is not dead

About once a week I would visit Plinky and peruse through their prompts and answer the ones that caught my fancy. They kept their site open but their last new prompt was in April (2010). I discovered Automattic, the creators of WordPress, acquired Plinky just last week.

If you are not familiar with Plinky, it is a site that provides daily prompts, usually in the form of a question. You can answer with words, maps, playlists, pictures, you can see what others have answered and you can also have your posts automatically post onto other sites like wordpress and facebook.

WordPress believes Plinky is great for those days when you want to write, but are hitting a mental wall. Think of it as an idea generator to fuel your creative mojo.

I have almost 60 plinky posts on my blog (link). Or here are a few that I have answered.

Cooking and Fung Fu

No one knows what the next scene features

I would be excited about finding solid ground under my feet

How to explain… should I just list all my faults?

About Inner Love

I want: Passion. Desire. To create Cosmos. I want: Expression. Depth. Meaning. I want: Joy. Laughter. Love. I want: Life. View all posts by Inner Love

15 responses to “Plinky is not dead

  • Seshadri

    Tried my first Plinky 🙂
    Interesting website

    • Suzanne

      Hey, you got some posts up and you changed your theme, nice!

      I was going to jump to your page by your comment name, but you don’t have it linked to your page. You should fix that, good way to get people back to your page when you comment.

      • Seshadri

        Am not able to figure out how to change the setting you are mentioning…

      • Suzanne

        Go to your dashboard. On the left hand side there is an icon for “users”. Then go to “personal settings”. At the bottom of the page there is a section for Account Details where you can put your website that automatically is linked when you make comments.

      • Seshadri

        Thank you 🙂
        Just now updated the settings

  • dedalus9

    I loved plinky. Started out taking it too religiously, responding to EVERY single prompt. Then I predictably got sick of the prompts. But like you said, probably better to take it as an occasional cure for writer’s block.

    I haven’t plinked for like a year now and it’s still the biggest category on my wordpress blog. Guess I’ll have to check it out again.

    • Suzanne

      Nice, you used plinky as a verb. Of course you got sick of it when you answered every prompt, it became more of a chore.

  • Seshadri

    Suzanne`
    any efficient way to archive or sort the plinky posts? When I answer a prompt and share it on WP, it directly comes to my home page..I would like to directly go to the categorized or archived page for Plinky..
    any thoughts?

    • Suzanne

      I don’t know if wordpress made that ability available when they bought Plinky, but I had to edit the plinky post in wordpress to make it go to the right category and add tags. I also added the prompt at the beginning.

  • Nicole Hardesty

    This post was helpful! I just signed up for Plinky. It will definitely help getting my creative juices flowing. thanks!

    • Suzanne

      I’m glad it will help. But you should definitely get another visit to that Bamboo Garden before it leaves town.

  • Slamdunk

    I used to respond regularly at Plinky when I had more time. I agree that it is a good idea generator for posts, and I used it as well for a writer’s warm-up–sort of writing a few sentences on the first thing that popped into my head.

  • Warren Contreras

    I recently discovered Plinky myself and have enjoyed using it linked to my WordPress blog. Don’t overlook the fact you can change the prompt to anything you want, so it often stimulates something totally different for me.

Leave a Reply

