Keep your distance

Lately, I’ve been a bit paranoid while I’ve been driving.  Every once in a while when I pass a car and the lanes are tight or I’m in the blind spot I get paranoid that the car will come into my lane and hit me. I’ve been commuting an hour to work (one way) for over a year and I’m used to interstate and city traffic and I haven’t been in an accident recently, so I’m not sure what’s changed. It doesn’t happen often enough to bother me, but it has happened enough to make me wonder about it. Fortunately I should be cutting my commuting time down by half within the next several months, which will be so great!

Because people always say sharing is a nice thing to do, I’m going to give you some stats to “share” my paranoia with you.

  • More than 413,000 accidents are caused by blind spot related problems annually.
  • An average of 115 persons die each day in motor vehicle crashes in the United States, one every 13 minutes.
  • Twenty-eight percent of traffic accidents occur when people talk on cellphones or send text messages while driving.
  • For each mile driven, teen drivers ages 16 to 19 are about four times more likely than other drivers to crash.
  • 80% of all car accidents and 65% of near misses are caused by distracted drivers

So, are you paranoid yet?

I will leave you with some strange car accident pictures. Drive safe!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

About Inner Love

I want: Passion. Desire. To create Cosmos. I want: Expression. Depth. Meaning. I want: Joy. Laughter. Love. I want: Life. View all posts by Inner Love

2 responses to “Keep your distance

  • izaakmak

    I love the look of your blog. And those pictures are incredible, if a bit terrifying.

    The cars may be much safer now, but I swear the drivers were better when I was young – even though the speed limit was 70mph on the highways. Or maybe it was just that the roads weren’t nearly as crowed. I don’t know.

    What I do know is that I finally got to where I couldn’t take worrying about whether or not the drivers around me were going to do something stupid enough to get me killed, or worse! I could probably count the number of times I’ve driven in the last eight years on one hand.

    • Suzanne

      Thank you!

      I have this ideal place in my head where I can walk to all the major places I need. Wake up and walk to the bakery for some breakfast. Local grocery store and maybe a outdoor mall down the block. And most definitely have a coffee shop close by.

      Until then I will just have to watch out for those texting, eating, drinking, age 16-19 drivers on the road.

Leave a Reply

