Words that turn me on and the Ampersand

Defenestration: the act of throwing someone or something out of a window

Melancholy: a deep, pensive, long-lasting sadness

Nefarious: wicked or criminal

Ninja: a member of the 4th-century Japanese mercenary agents who were trained in the martial arts and hired for covert operations like espionage, sabotage or assassinations

Omphaloskepsis: contemplation of or meditation upon one’s navel

Phantasmagoria: a sequence of real or imaginary images like that seen in a dream

Serendipity: fortuitous discoveries while looking for something unrelated

Sensual: pertaining to, inclined to, or preoccupied with the gratification of the senses or appetites; carnal; fleshly

Victory: act of defeating an enemy or opponent in a battle, game or competition

So, what words turn you on?

I painted three small canvases and glued them together and it now hangs on my wall. It was fun and simple. And yes, Ampersands are sexy and turn me on too.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

About Inner Love

I want: Passion. Desire. To create Cosmos. I want: Expression. Depth. Meaning. I want: Joy. Laughter. Love. I want: Life. View all posts by Inner Love

30 responses to “Words that turn me on and the Ampersand

  • dedalus9

    palimpsest, meaning a manuscript or piece of writing that has been reused or covered in a new layer; pithy, meaning concise and forcefully expressive; & of course ampersand, because nothing is more sultry than coming together.

  • Selurus

    How about Innovation?
    And yes ampersands are sexy.

    • Suzanne

      Innovation: the act of introducing something new. A good choice.

      It would have been fun to let people post their own lovely drawings of ampersands. Even if they are “stick-figure” versions.

  • Kristopher Phillips

    graphic design is your calling.

  • webmistress

    You have a unique posting sense and I love it
    for me words that get me and make me a little naughty are:

    I love you
    that phrase never gets old and hearing speaks to my heart

    baby
    when my man calls me that it excites me like the first time

    serious
    letting me know my undivided attention is needed

    Dexter
    not sure why, but it does lol

    • Suzanne

      Love is grand and we need to express it verbally. Nowadays I try to not use it as an automatic response.

      Dexter, like the show? Hmm… doesn’t he cut people up? lol, should we worry?

      • webmistress

        I agree with you about the word love, for me whenever I say it i mean it like the first time i felt it…Dexter there is something about that name that just gets me hot and bothered.

  • lee

    Serendipity: is a propensity for making fortuitous discoveries while looking for something unrelated.

    Voted as one of the top 10 english words to translate.

    Nice post I enjoyed. Gives me ideas

    Lee

  • somethingnewplease

    Six is my favorite.

    Reminds me of Clifford Pickover, a very engaging scientist and futurist. He claims we’ll all live ten lives due to technology and the ability to make virtual lives that seem like real ones. Which means, according to Clifford, that you have a one in ten chance of this being real.

    D.

    • Suzanne

      Hmm, I don’t know how I feel about that. Maybe I would be ok with it if I got to wear sunglasses, a black trench coat and move faster then bullets like The Matrix.

  • somethingnewplease

    It’s true. It sounds a lot like the matrix. But he’s freaking Clifford Pickover! IBM genius in residence. I just can’t deny the guy. (Plus I kind of like the idea…. though not in a matrix way. That would be lame. Stuck with Reeves? No thanks.)

    D.

    • Suzanne

      I will just take the black clothing and speedy thing. Makes me envision a completely black road runner. Think I’m getting lamer with every word.

      I glanced at Pickover’s bio. A degree in molecular biophysics and biochemistry. Makes me cry to think of how much bigger his brain is compared to mine. sigh.

  • somethingnewplease

    You should check out some of his books. The titles are crazy. So is the content. But crazy people always see what’s coming.. whether it’s real or a figment of their schizophrenia.

    D.

  • Vagabond Lit

    I like the word “covert” because its meaning is so closely related to the fact that the word has one additional letter to “cover;” and I like the word “somnambulist” because it acts as a code word against people who don’t realize that they are; and I like the word “fecundate” because it makes me think of “impregnation” but with a negative glance of fecal doldrums which is exactly how I feel after what I have written has processed for a few days.

    • Suzanne

      Some interesting choices. I had to look up somnambulist., which I have done only once in my life when I was very young.

  • webmistress

    words or more so the “sound” of them are exciting, not coming from everybody of course, but a nice, voice tha’ts pleasing to my ears.

  • Jim Murdoch

    My latest post is about making up words. One of the words I discovered while working on it was oikolect: a language spoken by a household.

  • webmistress

    Sweetie is another would that sounds great to me, love how it rolls off the lips and how they look when speaking it.

  • 2010 in review « A blossom in the snow

    […] Words that turn me on and the Ampersand May 2010 29 comments […]

Leave a Reply

