Religion: my thoughts and opinions

The other day I was talking to a minister at work who told me he visits Korean churches on a regular basis and he would gladly send me a Korean Bible. He then offered to send me a English Bible after he remembered I told him I was adopted. He gave me his card and his daughter was apologizing to me afterwards. He was a nice man, although I don’t like it when people try to evangelize others.

It makes me think back to when my brother died. The minster, to the church I attended when I was younger, came to the house to speak to the family. He was the person who was going to speak at my brother’s service. I only remember one comment he made to us. I had stayed quiet the whole time until the minister said that my brother was going to a better place and God wanted him there. My emotional retort was something to the effect that I didn’t care if God wanted him, I would rather have him alive here with us. But no matter what any of us believe, he wasn’t coming back.

I believe the Bible is a literary text. A book written by man. In it there are some wonderful words, meaningful lessons and guidelines we should mind. But there are some contradictory details and many areas where I believe the book was a tool, a way to control the masses and tell others how they should live their lives.

I usually shy away from talking about religion. Many wars have started because of religion and/or had a theological aspect to it. It is a topic that can get heated quickly and many have very strong opinions on it. So strong that it causes them to feel hate towards others who think or believe differently. This is sad, but true. If asked I would call myself an agnostic but I have never done a thorough research into all the religions.

I have nothing against those who believe, believe in Christianity, Buddhism, Islam, Judaism, Hinduism, Taoism, etc. Sometimes it seems like it would be so much easier to live believing in a higher power, to believe in a God who loves us and forgives us and to die knowing I was going to a better place, that there is a bigger meaning to life. People reach out to religion for various reasons, at different times in their lives, because of tradition passed on from their parents/guardians. Some go to it to explain the pain, the misery, the tragedy, the despair in their life. Great if it helps them, if it eases the hurt in their life, if it helps them see the beauty and love in life. Even better if religion helps make them be a better person to themselves and others.

But I have my own opinions. Sometimes miracles happen, sometimes tragedy takes away from the innocent, but this is part of life. People can be good to their neighbors, forgive those who wrong them, fill their life with love. People can also torture, murder, carry misery with them and infect others. We are responsible for our own actions. Even at the lowest points in my life, when my brother died, when I separated from my husband, I never once reached out to God. He wasn’t responsible, he wasn’t going to give me the answers, he wasn’t going to save me, he wasn’t going to pick up the pieces for me. I had to do that myself.

About Inner Love

I want: Passion. Desire. To create Cosmos. I want: Expression. Depth. Meaning. I want: Joy. Laughter. Love. I want: Life. View all posts by Inner Love

7 responses to “Religion: my thoughts and opinions

  • annex50

    I am procrastinating on my studying so I will be brief. I would just say that our brain leads us to be quite egocentric and we can go too far on the opposite extreme. Do we really do everything ourselves? Is there no rhythm to the universe and its’ inhabitants? I am not saying that we must ascribe all end results to the wonder of spirituality or religion, but I definitely believe that there is much more at play than just randomness and self. There really isn’t any evidence of an afterlife or God, at least, scientifically but there is also no sensibility in obsessing over materialistic things either.

    We seem to devote much of our life to acquire things and to follow trends. This is a creation of man that is constantly in motion also. So, if we are to strip away these ideologies, what do we have left? Are we to pursue the restricted access of science and spirituality or just find some desired emotional state within the world we live in? Should we just help others in need? Would that be fulfilling? Then what? We understand that everything has a beginning and an end but usually fail to grasp that there is a much larger universe at work. Many more possibilities of things that we cannot fathom. So, we may die but the broader spectrum of life continues on and on. Is that spiritual? Maybe we do reincarnate but lose our “prior self”. It is just our ego that seems to translate things into wonderful, soothing stories. OK. Back to studying!

  • suzanneme

    Good questions, that I don’t have answers for, but I’m ok with that. If I felt the need I could probably find a religion that fits who I am. My brief knowledge of Taoism gives me a spark. Creed: “We reject hatred, intolerance, and unnecessary violence, and embrace harmony, love and learning, as we are taught by Nature.”

    I guess I don’t worry too much about what religion I am or am not. I’ll try to find meaning when possible, to soothe my soul. But in the end I hope I am able to experience what life has to offer. If I am able to help someone, I hope that I do. If buying a macbook makes me happy (and doesn’t break the bank), then I will. I will strive for happiness and fulfillment where I can.

    It is good to question, but sometimes it is good just to be.

  • Jennifer

    Our purpose here is simple… to develop the soul. Religions were created for government purposes, to control the masses. I would start by reading “Astrotheology & Shamanism: Unveiling the Law of Duality in Christianity and Other Religions”. It explains how and why this was done. The soul is far more powerful than they want us to realize.

  • Jennifer

    Christianity uses the heaven/hell scenario to trap us. It consumes us with guilt over the past and worry for the future. Buddhism intrigues me in the principle that they hold THIS MOMENT as the dearest, and to Be Here, Now. Have the best possible moment NOW without pressures of tomarrow or the burdens of yesterday. It is their goal to keep us wrapped up in the future or dwelling on the past they can keep up in the illusion that we need “them” to show us how to live, what to think, program us with their lies, etc.

  • suzanneme

    I agree that religion is used as a means to control the masses, but it was also created to explain and give meaning to life. Some people feel lost without that “higher” guidance, an explained purpose to life and death, the knowledge that there is more than what is just given. I know people can live their lives without being “trapped” by religious doctrine and still be religious. Just personally, I don’t follow that path.

  • Paul

    Very well said Suzanne.
    I think that spirituality is found within us. If one certain religion gets you there, great. I was raised Catholic, then joined a more fundamentalist Christian church (hey, I was young and so was my spirituality) eventually spending 3 years at a Zen Buddhist Temple.

    I believe that both evil and good are within us and we choose what to reveal in every moment.

    I lost my mother, father and youngest brother. Ultimately it was up to me to get out of bed and move on.

    While I have no problem with anyone’s choice of religion I do believe in George Carlin’s 11th commandment..
    “keep Thy Religion To Thyself!”

    🙂

    • Suzanne

      Ah, I forgot about this post. A rare time when I talk about religion.

      I’m sorry to hear about your lost family. Sometimes when we are in that dark place it is so hard to see any light, any reason to keep going. With or without religion, it takes strength from within.

Leave a Reply

