For the Love of Books

bookcase

One of my goals for the coming year is to read 20 books, where at least 5 of them have to be outside of the genres I usually read (fiction and fantasy). I don’t normally make a list of books to read, but I bought more than a few at the bookstore and now I have a stack to keep me busy for quite some time.

My current to read list:

  1. Confessions of an Economic Hitman by John Perkins (current affairs)
  2. Outlander by Diana Gabaldon (fiction)
  3. The Professor and the Madman by Simon Winchester (literary history)
  4. Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman (fantasy)
  5. Thus Spake Zarathustra by Friedrich Nietzsche (philosophy)
  6. Memory Keeper’s Daughter by Kim Edwards (fiction)
  7. Ulysses by James Joyce (fiction)
  8. Me Talk Pretty by David Sedaris (literary essays)
  9. Divine Misdemeanors by Laurell Hamilton (fantasy)

I am currently reading Memory Keeper’s Daughter but am about to put it down. When I read My Sister’s Keeper, knowing how depressing it was going to be, it made me see that life could so much worse and it made me feel better. But reading Memory Keeper’s Daughter, knowing how depressing it was going to be, just seems to make me more (not here). I am about a 1/4 of the way through and am reading it so slowly. So it is time to set that book aside and move on to a different one. Not sure which one yet, there are so many to choose from.

About Inner Love

I want: Passion. Desire. To create Cosmos. I want: Expression. Depth. Meaning. I want: Joy. Laughter. Love. I want: Life. View all posts by Inner Love

Leave a Reply

