Traits in an enduring friend

If you go by what my facebook says, I have 61 friends. While I do know every single person on my friends list, and most of them I can have an intelligent conversation with, most are friendly acquaintances. I like having “friendly acquaintances,” but realistically I only have a few number of people I would call an enduring friend.

Being disappointed so often growing up made me cautious of letting people get too close to me. I realize that is a fault of mine because I’m sure I have lost out on opportunities on friendships. While I am still cautious and I will never open up to someone right away, I understand that there are people out there who are most definitely worth it.

That being said, what I value in a friend is someone who is loyal, honest, non judgmental, and I can trust.

 

Loyal
A friend doesn’t have to be there for everything in my life. Some friends leave your life, some come back after a period of time, some last your whole life.

But in general: They stand beside me even when I feel alone. They will listen to me when I need to be heard. They will defend me when I get attacked.

 

Honest
Deflates my ego and inflates my self.

Isn’t afraid of differences of opinions, and I can speak my mind and know they won’t think less of me for it.

I don’t want a friend who always agrees with me or never agrees with me. There has to be common ground, but differences are healthy and good in a relationship.

 

Non Judgmental
I will make mistakes and be stupid. I will be miserable and depressed. I will be lost and confused.

A friend will be there to help pick me back up, but won’t try to choose what is best for me or try to change me.

 

Trust
That a friend will keep what they know in safekeeping. That I can assume what they say as being true. And trust that when there are disappointments and failures (on either side), that both will try their best in repairing the friendship.

 

About Inner Love

I want: Passion. Desire. To create Cosmos. I want: Expression. Depth. Meaning. I want: Joy. Laughter. Love. I want: Life. View all posts by Inner Love

Leave a Reply

